Historic Review Board


The purpose of the HRB is to carry out the City's historic resources program. The HRB reviews public improvements; reviews private and commercial buildings for historic compatibility; recommends ordinances and resolutions to the City Commission; and considers landmark designations, demolitions, and archeological site designations. Ordinance No. 1954 created the HRB on May 7, 1980 and was amended on November 6, 1985 by Ordinance No. 85-1017 and OCMC 2.28. 


A. The historic review board shall be composed of five members appointed by the mayor.
B. All members shall have a demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge of historic preservation. The members of the board shall include:
    1. One resident from the Canemah neighborhood;
    2. One resident from the McLoughlin neighborhood;
    3. One member-at-large;
    4. One architect experienced in historic preservation;
    5. One member from the chamber of commerce.
C. The term of service for members shall be for three years, and no member shall serve more than six consecutive years. Terms end on December 31.
D. A majority of active members shall be residents of Oregon City.
E. A majority of historic review board members shall be preservation professionals and/or person's working in historic-related disciplines, as defined by the National Park Service, to the extent that these members are available in the community.


Oregon Revised Statutes require certain public officials to file an annual Statement of Economic Interest (SEI) with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission. Members of the Historic Review Board are required to file the SEI. To view a sample of the form, click here.  Further information on this requirement may be obtained from the City Recorder's Office at 503-496-1505.

Download an Application for membership or Apply Online

Agendas | Minutes | Videos

Planning Department


Trevor Martin, Planner, 503-496-1562, tmartin@orcity.org



Name Position Term Start Date Term End Date
Derek Metson Architect 05/18/2011 12/31/2016
Jonathan Stone Chamber 01/01/2015 12/31/2017
Grant Blythe Canemah 01/04/2017 12/31/2019
Ken Baysinger At-Large 01/01/2015 12/31/2017
Claire Met McLoughlin NA 01/01/2015 12/31/2017

Updated March 2014