Urban Renewal Commission


The decisions of the Urban Renewal Commission have the potential of improving the face of Oregon City and the City's economy, impacting service demands, the business climates, and adjacent neighborhoods to the urban renewal district. The Oregon City Commission found that blighted areas as defined in ORS 457.010 exist in the City of Oregon City, and that the need for a City Urban Renewal Agency continues, as provided by ORS 457.035.


On October 5, 1983, Ordinance No. 83-1014 created the Oregon City Urban Renewal Board, composed of seven members appointed by the Mayor. The ordinance ordered that bylaws be adopted, and that bylaws and amendments be subject to approval by the City Commission. On March 10, 1988, Ordinance No. 88-1002 was approved, transferring the powers of the Urban Renewal Agency to the City Commission. The Oregon City Urban Renewal Board became an advisory body to the City Commission on urban renewal matters. Ordinance No. 88-1002 repealed Ordinance No. 83-1014, except for Section 3 of the ordinance related to terms of office, appointments, and mayoral removal power. On July 8, 2002, the City Commission transferred the powers back to the Urban Renewal Commission, repealing Ordinance 88-1002 and Section 3 of Ordinance No. 83-1014. Ordinance No. 02-1011, Section 5, ordered that the composition of the Urban Renewal Commission consist of five members of the City Commission and four members of the general public. Then, on July 6, 2005, through Ordinance No. 05-1006, the City Commission transferred the powers from the nine-member Oregon City Urban Renewal Commission to the Oregon City Commission. 

Oregon Revised Statute 457.055 authorizes the governing body of a municipality to transfer the authority to exercise the powers of the urban renewal agency to any other body authorized to exercise these powers, including the local governing body itself.  On April 2, 2008, Ordinance No. 08-1005 transferred the powers of the Urban Renewal Agency from the Oregon City Commission to the Urban Renewal Commission.   On March 19, 2008, the Urban Renewal Commission approved new bylaws for the Commission. Ordinance No. 08-1005 added five additional representatives to the Urban Renewal Commission. Then, on July 18, 2012, the City Commission passed Ordinance No. 12-1005, modifying the membership of the Urban Renewal Commission, reducing the number of members from ten to seven. The Urban Renewal Commission responded with changes to its bylaws, approving Resolution No. UR12-03 on August 1, 2012.


Application for Membership

Agendas | Minutes | Videos

Urban Renewal Bylaws


Tony Konkol, City Manager, 503-496-1504, citymanager@orcity.org
Eric Underwood, Economic Development Manager, 503-496-1552, eunderwood@orcity.org